[Review] Foxonic Professional 3.2

{rw_text}Giveaway of the day for April 21, 2009 is:

Foxonic Professional 3.2

Version reviewed:

v3.2 Build 0019

Software description as per GOTD:

Foxonic is a powerful and easy-to-use PDF tool. With Foxonic, you can convert TIFF to PDF, JPEG to PDF, BMP to PDF, GIF to PDF and PNG to PDF. You can also merge PDF, split PDF, extract PDF pages, and add watermarks, add page numbers, add/change/remove PDF password/permissions and insert URL linking to the PDF file.

With this PDF tool, you can convert your favorite images, photos, pictures and scanned images of text documents to PDF files with password protection, make your own PDF e-books, PDF photo albums, PDF presentation and PDF slide shows with easy and pleasure, and share your PDF files with others without worry about the security of the PDF files.

Ashraf’s Note:

As Jim pointed out in the GOTD comments, on the developer’s website it shows “Foxonic Professional v3.5″. However we are being given v3.2 at GOTD. Like Jim I was unable to find any type of changelog so I can’t specify the differences between v3.5 and v3.2.

————————-{/rw_text} –>

{rw_good}

  • Supports batch conversions.
  • Can convert TIFF, JPEG, BMP, GIF and PNG images to PDFs.
  • Allows you to add text or image watermarks to PDFs.
  • Allows you to insert header and/or footer into generated PDFs.
  • Allows you to control security and permissions of generated PDFs.
  • Allows you to edit document info (author, subject, etc.)
  • You can convert multiple images into one PDF or single images into single PDFs.
  • Has a PDF merger, splitter and page extractor.
  • Decent end-product quality.
  • Informative “Help” section.

{/rw_good} –>

{rw_bad}

  • Fairly crowded interface.
  • Does not properly show the image thumbnails in the file browser.
  • Can only have one watermark per PDF (text or image).
  • Only supports converting images to PDFs – no text files, etc.
  • A built in “import from scanner” feature would have been nice.

{/rw_bad} –>

{rw_score}
{for=”Features as Described” value=”10″}Works like it claims.
{/for}
{for=”Ease of Use” value=”7″}The interface is fairly crowded and overwhelming (in my opinion); however once you figure it out all it is easy to use.
{/for}
{for=”Performance” value=”7″}Not too heavy on computer resources, conversions to PDFs are quick and output quality is decent.
{/for}
{for=”Usefulness” value=”6″}I can’t see this product being very useful to many people. If it allowed you to convert more than just image files to PDF I could see it being used by many. But it doesn’t. However the reason this gets a 6 and not a lower score in this category is because the PDF merger/splitter/page extrator can be fairly useful.
{/for}
{for=”Arbitrary Equalizer” value=”7″}This category reflects an arbitrary number that does not specifically stand for anything. Rather this number is used to reflect my overall rating/verdict of the program in which I considered all the features and free alternatives.
{/for}
{/rw_score} –>

{rw_verdict}[tup]
{/rw_verdict} –>

Registration and installation went fine. Be sure to run Activate.exe after you install Foxonic Pro.

Foxonic Professional is a program that was made to allow you to convert image files to PDFs. As much as I would like to say it is “easy to use” I can’t; I find the interface for Foxonic Pro to be too overcrowded:

2009-04-21_013217

As you can see in the above screenshot, Foxonic Pro is designed to resemble a file browser of sorts. You browse your computer and view your files from within the program. I personally would prefer a simple browse-your-computer for desired images you want to convert to PDFs type of interface as opposed to the built in file browser; the file browser and all the options/features to go along with it (filter, sort, etc.) just make the interface look overcrowded (keep in mind you can turn off some of the toolbars if you wish).

Also, note that instead of displaying the thumbnails of each image, to give a preview of what each image is, Foxonic just displays the generic Windows thumbnail image. Not sure why but it seems Foxonic is unable to display a preview thumbnail for images. This screenshot illustrates what I mean better:

2009-04-21_022603

It may just be me but this bug is really annoying since image file names do not necessarily tell a person what the image is; viewing a thumbnail is a must. And yes I made sure to run Foxonic as Administrator so that is not the issue.

Anyway, before you start converting any files, first visit “Settings”:

2009-04-21_014143

As you can see there are many tabs under settings. For beginners be sure to visit the “General” tab and set the settings accordingly. If you want to enter a header or footer into your generated PDF, visit the “Page Header & Footer” tab; if you want to edit PDF metadata such as author, title, subject, etc. visit “Document Info”; if you want to encrypt/password protect your PDF, go to “PDF Security”; if you want to add a text or image watermark go to “Watermarks”. For more detail on what each setting tabs contains please click here.

After you are satisfied with your settings you can being to convert images to PDFs. Foxonic Pro allows you to convert TIFF, JPEG, BMP, GIF and PNG images to PDFs. Go back to the main program window and browse your computer until you find the desired image files. Select all the images, right click and select “Build Select files to PDF”:

2009-04-21_020601

Alternatively you can also click on “Build all files to PDF”; the difference between the two options is that “Build select files to PDF” will only convert the files you have selected to PDF while “Build all files to PDF” will convert all image files in the folder you are currently in to PDFs. Regardless of which one you choose, converting images to PDF does not take long so just sit and wait for the files to convert. Also, depending on the settings you set, you will either have one PDF or multiple PDFs outputs; they may be the same name or different name as the original image files and they may be in the same location or different location as the original image files. Before long you should see a message box telling you the conversion to PDFs was a success:

2009-04-21_020721

Just click “OK” and go browse for your PDFs and do with them as you wish. Before you close Foxonic remember to save your settings if you plan on using the same/similar settings in the future.

In addition to being able to covert images to PDFs, Foxonic has three more handy tools:

  • PDF Merger (under “Tools”)

2009-04-21_021445

This tool allows you to merge multiple PDFs together into one PDF file. You can merge upto 5 PDFs together at a time.

  • PDF Splitter (under “Tools”)

2009-04-21_021642

This tool allows you to split one PDF into multiple different PDFs. You can split the PDF either into X amount of equal parts of you can split the PDF so each part has X amount of pages.

  • PDF Page Extractor (under “Tools”)

2009-04-21_021829

This tool allows you to extract certain pages from a PDF file. You can either define what pages you want to extract or you can use a predefined range: all the pages. first page, last page, odd pages, or even pages. You can also select if you want each extracted page to be an individual PDF or all of them should be combined to create one PDF.

Okay that is more or less the whole program. I am sure you are wondering now the quality of the PDFs created by Foxonic. Well wonder no longer. I used three images, one JPG, one PNG and one BMP and converted all three to PDFs. For convenience I zipped them all up. You can download them by clicking here. As you can see in the examples, the PDFs are of decent quality; not great but not too bad either.

Overall, I give Foxonic Professional a thumbs up. Yes it has its drawbacks but overall I think it is a good program; I especially like the PDF merger, splitter and page extractor features. However as I said there are drawbacks; these drawbacks include:

  • Only being able to add one text or image watermark to each PDF.
  • Only being able to convert images to PDFs. In today’s world with so many free PDF creators and printers, a program needs to be able to do more than just images to PDF to survive.

Also, this is more of a fancy wishlist but I wish Foxicon had some sort of “import from scanner” feature. You see usually the reason why people want to convert images to PDF is because they scanned something and would like it in PDF format. If Foxonic had a “import from scanner” feature, it would be very handy to import the image directly into Foxonic and convert it into a PDF.

This review was conducted on a laptop running Windows Vista Home Premium 32-bit. The specs of the laptop are as follows: 3GB of RAM, a Radeon HD 2600 512MB graphics card, and an Intel T8300 2.4GHz Core 2 Duo processor.

{rw_freea}

eXPert PDF Pro 5

eXPert PDF Pro 5 is a professional PDF program that allows you to create, edit and convert PDFs. eXPert PDF comes with a “PDF Printer” that you can use to convert literally anything that you can print (File -> Print) into a PDF. Or you can use the “Batch Creator” instead of the PDF Printer to convert many different file types, including image and text files, into PDFs. On top of all that, you can edit your PDFs very easily, add watermarks, export pages, merge PDFs, etc. eXPert PDF Pro 5 is a great, great program.

To compare the quality of eXPert PDF Pro 5 and Foxonic, I took the same three images I used for Foxonic examples and converted them to PDF with eXPert PDF Pro. You can download them by clicking here. As you can tell, the quality of the PDFs created with eXPert PDF Pro is noticeably better (I used “Batch Creator” btw instead of the PDF printer).

{/rw_freea} –>

{rw_verdict2}I give Foxonic a thumbs up. It is a good program that has handy tools. However I do not recommend it. I do not recommend it because in front of eXPert PDF Pro, Foxonic looks like a baby: Foxonic can only convert images to PDF while eXPert PDF Pro can do images plus many more different types of files, including text files. Not to mention eXPert PDF Pro output PDFs are of better quality and you can not only create but also edit PDFs with eXPert PDF Pro. Thumbs up for Foxonic but eXPert PDF Pro is my recommendation for today. ***Note: eXPert PDF Pro 5 is not supported on 64-bit machines… sorry =(.
{/rw_verdict2} –>

Share this post

Comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

39 comments

  1. more

    Can a listed decorative gas coal basket with 25,
    000 btu input be installed in a 12′ x 15′ room with 8′ ceilings? Basement: Additionally, there are times when the basement can be used as a bedroom.

  2. Kev93

    “How many people do I know that encourage Linux use?”

    At least 3. :-) I Have been here with other names before. (oops) Its up to you to find out what they are.
    About the name, I was feeling frustrated with some friends who wanted a ‘perfect’ computer. I had casually said “Well then, use Linux.” You know the rest.

    “Ugh still can’t think of who you are.”
    I don’t think (but am not sure) I’ve met you in person. If it wasn’t you, it was someone with your name. (and maybe looks, nice glasses :-)) Whoever it was, it was a short meeting.

  3. Janet

    Ashraf,

    I just got a response from Foxonic support re Landscape/Portrait. They referred me to the FAQ’s on Image Rotation, which would of course give me side-ways pictures…:-)…! Even for image rotation (if that’s what one wanted), the fact that Foxonic’s browser does not show thumbnails makes it extremely labor-intensive to find out which ones need rotating (you need to open the folder in Windows Explorer and then go back to Foxonic to change them one by one). I’m beginning to think this is not a very professional company/program…

    Janet

  4. Janet

    Ashraf,

    Regarding the Landscape/Portrait issue, I have no “Auto-size” on Page Options..:-(… Couldn’t find it anywhere in the Settings window, even with searches in Help. I do remember seeing such an animal somewhere–perhaps a different pdf program..:-)…? Meanwhile, this problem prevents me from using this program, as I need it to put together photo images. All are A4, but always some are Landscape and some are Portrait….

    Janet

  5. Ashraf
    Author/Mr. Boss

    Tortuga,

    Thanks for the encouragement and advice =). It is just hard not to respond when someone comes to my blog and starts talking crap.

    Also, glad to hear about the InshAllah/Oxala thing! Mind if I ask if you are Muslim or is that just a cultural influence you picked up (apologies if you told me before… I just can’t remember)?

  6. Tortuga

    Hello Ashraf :*)

    Been unable to post lately. But I do come by as often as I can :-)
    Glad you’ve finish the Midterms – Tell us, how did it go? Are you happy w the results?
    Insha’Allah you’ll get a little bit more sleep now!!

    Just want to add my 2cents about the previous interventions
    As BuBBy says so very often:
    ==> DON’T FEED the TROLLS!!

    No matter what you do, how generous you are or how well & appreciated your reviews are by many, there will always be someone to find ‘they could do it better than you’.
    Somehow, they never help the community, only find fault w everything, argue others don’t do it well enough or as well as they would do it … *IF* they had done it.
    Only they rarely do any thing at all.
    Don’t waste your energy responding, you are just feeding their need to be disruptive.
    It’s just a big bag of negativity looking for a way to be dropped in our laps. Stay zen. Ignore!!

    Be well my friend.
    And Thank You so very much for all the help you are giving us.
    Peace

    PS: Hey, been meaning to tell you.
    I used to use «Insha’Allah» quite often. Actually it was «Oxalá» (which is a derivative – different spelling but same meaning & almost same pronunciation), as I was living in Europe at the time.
    Thanks for reminding me, I had forgotten.
    Funny, as I realize I’m using it more & more again :D
    Ciao

  7. Ashraf
    Author/Mr. Boss

    Kev93,

    All is good. I like to have open discussions on my blog (within limitations of course and you are no where close to crossing the line). If sitetop can post the stuff he has, there is no reason why you can’t also.

    And your name sounds very familiar but I can’t put my finger on who you are/where I remember you from.

  8. Kev93

    Ashraf said:

    ‘I trust my testing over your testing.’

    Who wouldn’t?

    sitetop said:
    ‘yes, how can a swindler will admitting he is lying, just like you.’

    If I read that sentence how it is written, it says you are lying.
    Is that what you meant to have said?

    sitetop said:
    ‘Ashraf’s whole story is nothing but a pack of lies.’

    From my testing I must agree with Ashraf. Being a programmer/scientist, and having studied ‘user-friendliness’ in depth, I can tell you the only reason you can use software with a ‘user-friendly’ interface is because you are used to it. Studies show (and not just my studies) that the ‘Windows(r)’ model is VERY ‘UN-user-friendly’.

    For more info, ask Ashraf for my E-Mail address and I will explain privately(I don’t want to ‘spam’ Ashraf’s site with my research).

    sitetop said:
    ‘if you are a real normal person who can make normal thinking, and then you point to a black board, saying “look, this is a white board”, you must be a madman, or you’ve get mental retardation, talking to you, is just like talking to a madman, make no sense.’

    Are you trying to make your point? You ‘made no sense’ there.

    -Someone (Ashraf MIGHT know who I am)

    P.S. Ashraf, if you feel any of this is inappropriate, feel free to edit/delete it.

    P.S.S. I am NOT trying to start a flame war or hurt anyones feelings. If you feel hurt because of this, then PLEASE tell me so I wont hurt you again.

  9. Janet

    Dear Sitetop and Thom,

    Is there a way in Foxonic to have both Portrait-orientation and Landscape-orientation images in a multiple-image pdf? Mine came out with ALL the images portrait (thus the landscape ones were fit to a portrait page keeping the proportions, thereby coming out necessarily smaller). eXPert PDF’s multiple-image pdf automatically came out with the Landscape images in Landscape and the Portrait images in Portrait.

    Thanks,
    Janet

  10. Janet

    Hi Thom!

    If you had been a regular frequenter of this site, you–like me and many others–would have a totally free, registered version of eXPertPDF 5 on your computer …:-)….! That is why the comarison came up–many GAOTD readers frequent this site.

    I had thoroughly read the Foxonic Pro FAQ page. I think you have to read it a bit more carfully …:-)…!

    Your first link[ http://www.caisdata.com/faq/Q0319090004.htm tells us how to make a slide show WITH FILES FROM A SINGLE FOLDER ONLY (Step One says:"open the folder where your source image files exist.")
    My point was that I usually want to put together images from different, unrelated folders from different parts of the computer. This FAQ does not do that. Further, it is only about slide shows--they MUST be full screen only and advance automatically only, not allowing the viewer to progress and see the pictures at his own rate (which I think is usually very important for most of us).

    Your second link [http://www.caisdata.com/faq/Q0319090003.htm] tells us how to make single pdf from a SINGLE FOLDER AND ALL its subfolders! [It begins "open THE folder where your source image files/folders exist".] I think the average person wants to combine individual images from different folders (eg, a picture from the folder of your summer trip, a picture or two from the folder of Grandpa’s birthday party, a picture from the folder of your son’s graduation, a picture from etc etc. I don’t believe Foxonic can do this, which seems to me a serious failing. Not many folks out there will be wanting to make a pdf out of one of their directories…:-)….!
    Foxonic is indeed a lovely program which does many things. It seems to be particularly suited to converting large numbers of consecutive files. Since most people will not need such a function, I think perhaps more of us will get good use out of alternative programs which allow us to combine images files from various photos on the computer.
    As Ashraf always says, it’s a matter of what one’s needs are.

    All the best,
    Janet

  11. Ashraf
    Author/Mr. Boss

    Thats great sitetop – thanks for letting us all know. Why don’t you ask for a refund.

    P.S. Grow up. Time to learn not everyone in the world will agree with your opinion.

  12. sitetop

    Ashraf,

    (1) “I trust my testing over your testing.”, yes, how can a swindler will admitting he is lying, just like you.

    (2) you are totally lie in your throat.
    if you are a real normal person who can make normal thinking, and then you point to a black board, saying “look, this is a white board”, you must be a madman, or you’ve get mental retardation, talking to you, is just like talking to a madman, make no sense.

    Ashraf’s whole story is nothing but a pack of lies.

  13. Ashraf
    Author/Mr. Boss

    Thom,

    Your links do not answer Janet’s questions. Your first link shows how to make a slideshow from files within the same folder. Your second link shows a FAQ on the developer showing how you can create a PDF out of image files in a folder + a subfolder not images from two different folders.

    How exactly does the “FAQ” answer Janet’s question of how to create PDFs of files from two different folders?

  14. Ashraf
    Author/Mr. Boss

    Janet,

    Excellent points… in both your comments! Now that I think about it, no I don’t know how to create PDFs of files in different folders. You can, however, merge PDFs from different folder by using the “PDF Merger” until tools (only supports 5 PDFs at a time).

  15. Thom

    Ashraf,

    I downloaded Foxonic Professional from GAOTD and expert PDF pro you recommend (I can only download v6.0 from developer’s site, it’s 69 euro, FREE? I can see only order link).

    Fairly say, Foxonic Professional really do better than eXPert PDF batch converter.

    After taking the advice to read developer page’s FAQ, I learned that there was an even better way to do what I wanted! now I love this program even more! Ingenious.

    janet, I recommend you read foxonic pro’s FAQ page first, from there, you can learn more about foxonic pro. For your question, recommend u read this 2 faq pages:

    How to create PDF slide shows or PDF presentations with Foxonic? (where you can learn how to combine image files with pdf files–all from different folders–into a single pdf file.)
    http://www.caisdata.com/faq/Q0319090004.htm

    How to convert image files in an entire directory (include subfolders) to one PDF file with Foxonic?
    (where u can learn “how to make a single PDF file from several image files IN DIFFERENT FOLDERS”)
    http://www.caisdata.com/faq/Q0319090003.htm

  16. janet

    Hi Folks,

    I have a really stupid question….In Foxonic, I can’t see how to make a single PDF file from several image files IN DIFFERENT FOLDERS….It seems as though you can only do it with image files in the same folder….Surely that can’t be right…?? There is probably a simple way right under my nose that I am missing….

    Janet

    PS In eXPertPDF, you can combine image files with pdf files–all from different folders–into a single pdf file.

  17. Janet

    Dear Sitetop:

    I have refrained from commenting until now, but since your review has a number of rather serious errors, I felt I must come forward….

    You might do well to take your own advice and acquaint yourself with a program enough to judge it before doing so. You seem to have missed a great deal in your study of eXPert PDF, thereby seriously misrepresenting the parts you listed….

    eXPert PDF actually consists of SEVEN sub-programs. It suffers from documentation which, unfortunately, makes it difficult for the user to see the relationship between the different parts. This does make it difficult to see the value of the overall program and its many functions.

    It’s sub-programs are:
    eXPert PDF Editor
    eXPert PDF Creator
    eXPert PDF Batch Creator
    eXPert PDF 2word
    eXPert PDF WatermarkEd
    eXPert PDF sendmail
    eXPert PDF Settings (which can be called up for any of the above)

    I’ll give a quick run-down of only the major parts, and I think you will find not only that you mixed up the functions of the different parts, but also that each program does much more than your review led us to believe…:-)….
    _____________________________________________________________

    eXPertPDF EDITOR

    This is the main program.
    eXPert PDF Editor allows you full editing of pdf documents without the use of external tools. BUT IT DOES A LOT MORE THAN THAT! With eXPert PDF editor you can work with PDF documents in the following ways:

    *Open, view and print PDF documents: this also includes 40-bit and 128-bit encrypted PDF files.

    *Generate PDF documents from any source files.

    *Export PDF documents in other formats (Word, RTF or Image – JPEG, PNG, TIFF)

    *Use bookmarks, page lists and thumbnails to navigate a PDF document.

    *EDIT PDF TEXT.

    *Create and Modify VECTOR GRAPHICS such as paths, curves.

    *Add COMMENTS and HIGHLIGHTS.

    *Insert, delete, reorder and extract pages from a PDF document.

    *Insert/Modify/Transform document images.

    *Modify document settings.

    *Add transition effects to your pdf documents for presentations!

    THAT’S QUITE A LOT!

    I believe all of the very varied sub-programs can be accessed from this primary program. The name of the program is misleading, because it makes you think it is just an editor.

    ___________________________________________________________________

    eXPertPDF CREATOR

    eXPert PDF Creator is a printer driver generating PDF documents FROM ANY APPLICATION ABLE TO SEND OUT PRINTS. You can thus create a PDF document from any application, as if you printed to any other printer. With PDF Printer you can create PDF documents that can be published on web sites, emailed or archived .

    Really easy to convert any document into high quality PDF files with one click!

    Converting an Excel sheet or a Word document into a secured PDF file is quick and easy! (Puts a PDF tool bar in WORD.)

    Enhanced features enable you to
    *send your generated files by email
    *reinforce your documents’ security
    *reinforce your documents’ authenticity

    __________________________________________________________________

    eXPertPDF BATCH CREATION

    eXPert PDF Batch Creator is a standalone application from which you may create pdf documents from different file types.
    Batch creator is able to create pdf documents from html pages, web sites, images stored on local disk, and scanned images (*).

    (*) Please note that ‘Scan’ button will be visible only if a scanner exist on your system.
    (**) Batch PDF Creation is also available in the PDF Editor “File|Create PDF” menu!

    ________________________________________________

    You can check out the other parts for yourself. Obviously these programs work together…you have to know they are there and what they are used for!!!

    You also might do well to learn a little about the purpose of this website. It is NOT a freeware site. Ashraf is a full-time student who writes his reviews for us in his spare time totally as a favor. His reviews for GAOTD have to be quick because the apps are free for only 24 hours. Many of us rely on his reviews to get enough of a feel for the program to know if we want to download it. He assumes we will then preform all our required tests ourselves. He makes it very easy for us to get into the program so that we can carry out our own review in an effective way. He OFTEN says some of his comments are simply his personal preferences and that we should all check programs out in accord with our personal needs. In-depth studies on serious programs are not something that one can do DAILY unless you are being paid to do so. For that you have Google…

    Although Ashraf gives us reviews on freeware occasionally, THAT IS NOT THE PURPOSE OF THIS SITE! Its great value is in pointing us to regular, commercial, often expensive programs that are being specially offered for free. These are–for OBVIOUSreasons–not the latest version! Ashraf’s service enables us to find expensive, professional programs that we can (miraculously!) use LEGITIMATELY for free! If we love the program enough, we may choose to purchase the latest version.

    No matter how much we are sure we are right and the other person is wrong, we should always be aware of the fact that we MAY just be wrong after all…:-)…Ashraf is always happy to be corrected by his viewers or to find out something new which he didn’t catch. You would be well advised to do the same….

    All the best,
    Janet

  18. Ashraf
    Author/Mr. Boss

    sitetop,

    Firstly, you continue to whine about how eXPert PDF is not free yet thousands of people have installed and use eXPert PDF Pro 5 (and/or eXPert PDF Pro 4) without ever paying a dime (legitimately). You are just making yourself look like a fool to continue on with “oh but it is not free”. The latest version may not be free but I did not list the latest version as free alternative.

    Secondly, you may think my reviews to be “simple” and “useless” but it is obvious thousands of other people find them very helpful. As I said earlier, if you think you can do a better job, by all means start writing your own reviews.

    Thirdly, I trust my testing over your testing. However I do agree with you that eXPert PDF does take up more memory while converting than Foxonic, but no where near “850 MB”. It took up 20-70MB of RAM (it increases as it converts for longer) as opposed to the ~12 MB of Foxonic for the same 950-image-files-to-1-pdf conversion. CPU usage is about the same (~40-50% – eXPert PDF is in the lower 40s while Foxonic is in the higher 40s); but eXPert PDF also converted a lot faster than Foxonic (8 secs vs 11.5 secs).

    Fourthly, I don’t have a TIFF OJPEG file on hand to confirm or deny your claim (seeing as most of your post is full of lies I don’t know what to say) but I can say TIFF OJPEG are legacy now so most of the general population will have little to no use of a feature such as that. My reviews and recommendations are always (mostly always) aimed for the general population, not a niche.

    Fifthly, eXPert PDF is by no means a perfect program nor did I claim it to be. It is however, overall, more versatile and more useful than Foxonic.

    Sixthly, I am glad you decided to give us your own review. Now people have two reviews to use to make up their minds. However I have a feeling they will trust my recommendation over yours.

    Have a good day.

  19. Ashraf
    Author/Mr. Boss

    Janet,

    When I want to use the PDF Creator I run vspdfprsrv.exe and when I want to run the editor I run PDFEditor.exe.

    eXPert PDF is weird like that. The whole program is made up of separate .EXEs. Only some of them are inter-connected with each other. I also just run vsbatch2pdf.exe for the batch creator – have yet to find any other way to use it.

  20. Janet

    I thought the eXPert PDF’s Batch function just did a bunch of single pdf’s all at once with the same settings. Thanks for letting me know otherwise!

    I entered a pdf file and a jpg and it gave an excellent single, 2-page pdf file with the two of them!

    Tried again with 7 files–jpgs and pdfs–and it again did all of them beautifully! Nothing missing!

    I did these with vsbatch2pdf.exe opened directly from the program folder because I couldn’t find any way to get to a batch function from eXPert PDF CREATOR (vspdfprsrv.exe). Is that the main window?? I can’t find any way to get files into it–only Jobs (*.pj) of which I have none….eXPert PDF EDITOR (PDFEditor.exe) allows me to create a pdf under File, but there are no settings….I’m confused–It’s as though I don’t have the main program that accesses all these sub-programs…???? Ashraf–What .exe are you using to open eXPert PDF?–i.e., how are you getting to the batch function??

    Janet

  21. sitetop

    Hi Ashraf,
    Why I post here again, because I really want to know the answer of this question:
    (1) why you recommend expert PDF pro only, which is not FREE, and many other REAL FREE PDF tools you don’t recommend.
    I have checked the developer’s site, it’s $94.88, here is the product price list
    http://www.visagesoft.com/products/expertpdf/price.php

    (2) to do a more fairly review on Foxonic Pro.
    just as I said before, you really don’t know about Foxonic Pro (4-5 days testing you can get a more fairly review on it), so your review does not reveal the truth, and your review may mislead users to make right choice.
    From this review, I really doubt the quality of your review.

    So, I did a more deeper testing for Foxonic Pro and another tool you recommend expert PDF pro, data will always tell us the truth, my testing RESULT is:
    Foxonic Pro is absolutely superior than expert PDF pro when batch converting images to PDF.
    (as I had said before, Ashraf’s testing is just too simple, just 3 images, we can’t learn the real difference between this 2 PDF tools, we need to dig more deeper.)

    0. Before we go, I must show MY OPINION here first:
    *******************************************************************************
    $$Ashraf’s total rating for Foxonic Pro: 7.4

    $$My total rating for Foxonic Pro: 9.2
    $$My total rating for expert PDF Pro: 5.3
    *******************************************************************************

    I. what’s Foxonic Pro and expert PDF pro?
    Foxonic Pro: 4 main parts
    (1) an image to PDF converter
    (2) a PDF merger
    (3) a PDF splitter
    (4) a PDF page extractor
    Price: $79.00
    Note: Foxonic Pro can batch merging PDF files just like batch converting images to PDF in it’s file browse window, that is to say, you can batch merging 100 or 1000 PDF files to 1 PDF at one time, at the same time, all PDF settings which are available for images also can be set to PDF file, this feature is really powerful, you can find may ways to use this feature to manipulate PDF files. expert PDF can’t do this.

    expert PDF pro: 4 main parts also
    (1) an image to PDF converter – called “expert PDF Batch Creator”
    (2) a PDF printer – expert PDF Creator
    (3) expert PDF editor
    (4) a PDF to word converter
    Price: $94.88 (http://visagesoft.com/products/expertpdf/price.php)

    II. what will we compare for this 2 PDF tools?
    here’s a problem, how can we compare this 2 apps, because except the 1st part of this 2 apps are the same (both have an image to PDF converter), all the rest parts are totally different PDF tools, each part is for different cases, we can’t tell which part is more useful, all of them are useful, just like you can’t tell ear and eye, which is useful, both are useful, we can’t do anything well without any of them.

    So, obviously, we can only compare the first part of this 2 PDF tools, that is image to PDF converter, which the 2 PDF tool both have.
    Note: I think, Ashraf’s “Free Alternatives” he post, in fact, is actually an image to PDF converter which included in expert PDF pro, which called “expert PDF Batch Creator”.
    Result: we can only compare image to PDF converter feature of this 2 PDF tools.

    III. Review (including converting test data)

    ———————————————————————————————-
    1. Features as Described
    ———————————————————————————————-
    Foxonic Pro (image to PDF converter part): Works like it claims.
    Yes.
    * visit http://www.caisdata.com/foxnic.htm , you can learn a lot of information about this image to PDF converter.
    * visit http://www.caisdata.com/faq.htm , you can learn how to use this image to PDF converter.
    $$Ashraf’s rating on Foxonic Pro in “Features as Described”: 10

    $$My rating on Foxonic Pro in ” Features as Described “: 10
    $$My rating on expert PDF Pro (expert PDF Batch Creator) in ” Features as Described “: 6

    MY OPINION:
    expert PDF Batch Creator:
    from it’s developer’s site description we can only get following information about it image to PDF converter: Batch PDF Convertion, Create pdf documents from files stored on your local disk, web sites or scanned documents, just one sentence, can’t learn more about what this image to PDF converter can really do. In fact, compare with Foxonic Pro, expert PDF Batch Creator has more less features than Foxonic Pro’s image to PDF converter, despite expert PDF Batch Creator do has some feature that Foxonic Pro does not have.
    http://visagesoft.com/products/expertpdf/index.php

    ———————————————————————————————-
    2. Ease of Use
    ———————————————————————————————-
    Foxonic Pro (image to PDF converter part):
    THIS IS Ashraf’s REVIEW: The interface is fairly crowded and overwhelming (in my opinion); however once you figure it out all it is easy to use.

    Ashraf, even yourself don’t know what you said, did you mean finally, you will find it’s interface is easy to use, so why don’t you say directly, it’s interface is easy to use.
    $$Ashraf’s rating on Foxonic Pro in “Easy of Use”: 7

    $$My rating on Foxonic Pro in “Easy of Use”: 9
    $$My rating on expert PDF Pro (expert PDF Batch Creator) in “Easy of Use”: 2

    MY OPINION: the interface of Foxonic Pro is very good, every tool button shows what you can do with it, if u think the interface is “crowded”, double click the toolbar, u can set the layout of the buttons as u like.

    expert PDF Batch Creator:
    If you installed expert PDF pro v6.0, open it’s expert PDF editor, I think, from the review standard of Ashraf’s, it’s even more crowded and overwhelming (yes, in Ashraf’s opinion, expert PDF pro he recommend has more crowded and overwhelming interface compared with Foxonic Pro, you can open expert PDF editor and see it’s toolbar ), you can’t adjust the layout of it’s tool bar buttons, really crowded and overwhelming compare with Foxonic Pro, and you can’t do nothing with the layout of it’s toolbar buttons.

    For expert PDF Batch Creator, it’s interface is really looks like a baby when compare to Foxonic Pro, it’s file list window can’t sort file, can’t set filter for specified file types, all type of files messed up, can’t cancel the whole converting process when converting process is longer, you must wait until the building process finished. In my one testing on the feature: “Add Folders”, I add twice for the same folders just because I miss clicked the folder name, because expert PDF Batch Creator can’t add the same folder for 2 times, it will pop us a message box for you to confirm every file in that folder (I have 2000 files in that folder, so I have to click 2000 times for me to confirm each file that has been added to the file list window, for this reason, I even don’t want to do this testing anymore for this “baby” app, finally, I open task manager to directly terminate expert PDF Batch Creator’s process, the testing must be continue, because I really want to know it’s performance when converting images to PDF)

    ———————————————————————————————-
    3. Performance (*** THE MOST IMPORTANT PART OF THIS REVIEW)
    ———————————————————————————————-
    Not too heavy on computer resources, conversions to PDFs are quick and output quality is decent.
    $$Ashraf’s rating on Foxonic Pro in “Performance”: 7

    $$My rating on Foxonic Pro in “Performance “: 9.5
    $$My rating on expert PDF Pro in ” Performance “: 4

    HERE IS THE TESTING DATA FOR THIS 2 PDF TOOLS:
    Testing configuration:
    Hardware:
    CPU: Intel Celeron M420 1.60GB;
    Memory: 1.24 GB
    Software:
    OS: WinXP Professional SP3
    Image to PDF Converter: (1) Foxonic Pro 3.2 (2) expert PDF Batch Creator

    Image Converting test 1:
    Total File numbers: 3,958 files (jpg + bmp)
    Total File size: 0.98 GB

    Foxonic Pro Performance:
    CPU usage: 60% – 80% average
    Memory usage: 13 MB (Highest)
    Time: 4’13’’
    Pause Converting Process: support
    Cancel Converting Process: support
    Setting Converting Process to Background: support
    Finally PDF file size: 718MB
    PDF file quality: 10 (1: the lowest quality, 10: the highest quality)

    expert PDF Batch Creator Performance:
    CPU usage: 60% – 80% average
    Memory usage: 850 MB (Highest)
    Time: 6’24’’
    Pause Converting Process: not support
    Cancel Converting Process: not support
    Setting Converting Process to Background: not support
    Finally PDF file size: 720MB
    PDF file quality: 10 (1: the lowest quality, 10: the highest quality)

    Converting test 1 result:
    Memory usage:
    when converting all 3958 files to 1 PDF, expert PDF Batch Creator will “eat” up 850MB total system memory, can’t imaginable what about 7000 files, 2GB total file size, maybe it will “eat up”1.7GB total system memory, so for batch converting a large number of image to PDF, expert PDF Batch Creator is totally usefulness, it will make the whole system instable because it will “eat up” a lot of system resources. NOT suitable for batch converting a large number of image files to PDF.

    But Foxonic Pro only use 13MB system memory, really cool, STRONG RECOMMEND for batch converting a large number of image files to PDF.
    Conclusion: Foxonic Pro is more stable than expert PDF Batch Creator.

    Time:
    Foxonic Pro: 4’13’’
    expert PDF Batch Creator: 6’24’’
    Foxonic Pro is 1.52 times faster than expert PDF Batch Creator.
    Conclusion: Foxonic Pro is more effectiveness than expert PDF Batch Creator.

    Foxonic Pro is absolutely superior than expert PDF Batch Creator.

    Image Converting test 2:
    Total File numbers: 1 OJPEG TIFF image file
    Total File size: 120 MB

    Foxonic Pro Performance:
    CPU usage: 60% – 80% average
    Memory usage: 24 MB (Highest)
    Time: 48’’
    Pause Converting Process: support
    Cancel Converting Process: support
    Setting Converting Process to Background: support
    Finally PDF file size: 120MB
    PDF file quality: 10 (1: the lowest quality, 10: the highest quality)

    expert PDF Batch Creator Performance:
    Does not support this type of TIFF images, when converting, this tool has no responding.
    expert PDF Batch Creator fail to through image converting test 2.

    Converting test 2 result:
    Foxonic Pro support more type of TIFF images than expert PDF Batch Creator.
    Foxonic Pro is absolutely superior than expert PDF Batch Creator.

    ———————————————————————————————-
    4. Usefulness
    ———————————————————————————————-
    I can’t see this product being very useful to many people. If it allowed you to convert more than just image files to PDF I could see it being used by many. But it doesn’t. However the reason this gets a 6 and not a lower score in this category is because the PDF merger/splitter/page extractor can be fairly useful.
    $$Ashraf’s rating on Foxonic Pro in ” Usefulness”: 6

    $$My rating on Foxonic Pro in ” Usefulness”: 8.5
    $$My rating on expert PDF Pro in ” Usefulness”: 8

    MY OPINION:
    Please refer to title “I” in this review, “what is Foxonic Pro and what is expert PDF pro”, you will see the real difference between this 2 PDF tools, they both useful in different cases, except the first part of this 2 PDF tools (that is, image to PDF converter), nobody can substitute each other.

    But, based on the above performance testing, Foxonic Pro is absolutely superior than expert PDF Batch Creator, so Foxonic Pro get a higher rating.

    ———————————————————————————————-
    5. Arbitrary Equalizer
    ———————————————————————————————-
    This category reflects an arbitrary number that does not specifically stand for anything. Rather this number is used to reflect my overall rating/verdict of the program in which I considered all the features and free alternatives.
    $$Ashraf’s rating on Foxonic Pro in ” Arbitrary Equalizer “: 7

    $$My rating on Foxonic Pro in ” Arbitrary Equalizer “: 9
    $$My rating on expert PDF Pro in ” Arbitrary Equalizer “: 7

    MY OPINION:
    Because:
    (1) Foxonic Pro has more features than expert PDF Batch Creator, despite expert PDF Batch
    Creator do have several features that Foxonic Pro don’t have.

    (2)In the above image to PDF converting test, the testing data tell the truth is:
    Foxonic Pro is more stable and more effectiveness than expert PDF Batch Creator when batch converting images to PDF.

    (3) for the rest 3 parts of this 2 PDF tools, because each part has its own using cases, so all the features (except the part of image to PDF converter) that this 2 PDF tools provided are all useful in different ways, and can’t substitute each other.

    *******************************************************************************
    $$Ashraf’s total rating for Foxonic Pro: 7.4

    $$My total rating for Foxonic Pro: 9.2
    $$My total rating for expert PDF Pro: 5.3
    *******************************************************************************

    Finally, to Ashraf:
    (1) Base on the above result, I can’t find ways that expert PDF Pro (or any other PDF printers that real free) can be Alternatives for Foxonic Pro, just like a car always runs faster than a bicycle, how can you find ways to use a bicycle to substitute a car.

    (2) Advices: I must say it again, appreciate your reviewing work, but PLEASE, before u post a review on some products (such as this app or any other apps from GAOTD), u SHOULD learn to know how to use it for some days (30 minutes or hours testing can’t output some good result, how
    about changing your reviewing cycle to 2-3 days a product/review but not 1 hours a product/review), the quality of your review on Foxonic Pro is very poor, I don’t what about other products you reviewed, but I really doubt its quality base on this review.

    Poor quality review will mislead the end users, especially when they really want know something from your review, but you direct them to the wrong direction, you should take the responsibility.

    (3) Don’t recommend expert PDF Pro any more, this tool is REALLY just so so, it’s ability does not like you said, I think you’d better recommend us some more useful REAL FREE ware in the world, You can find a lot, and Review on then will make more sense.

    (4) To be a GOOD reviewer, you should to be thinking something over before put it out or you will lose your audience.

    Email me: [Removed by Ashraf. Reason: No posting private emails in public]

  22. Ashraf
    Author/Mr. Boss

    @Andrews,

    I agree the PDF Merger, splitter and page extractor are the best features of Foxonic. However you do understand eXPert PDF can also “merge 1000s of PDFs into one”? Use the “Batch Creator”.

    There is one bug with “Batch Creator” I found though. For some reason when merging PDFs together, the first PDF you have loaded won’t merge – the rest of them will. Not sure why that bug is but you can get around it very easily by just loading a dummy PDF for the first one.

    Try again.

  23. Andrews.Phil

    Ashraf,

    I downloaded all the PDF files that Foxonic Pro created and expert PDF created.

    you said “As you can tell, the quality of the PDFs created with eXPert PDF Pro is noticeably better”, I compared the 6 PDF files carefully, yes, I can tell the truth is the quality of PDF file that created from expert PDF is just not like you said, just so so, the PDFs are of decent quality, not great but not too bad either.

    And I have read through all the posts on GAOTD, have you read the faq page of the developer’s site, if you haven’t yet, I think you should read it, Foxonic Pro can do many things which expert PDF can’t, merging 1000 PDF files you selected in file browse window, just 2 clicks, you can merge 1000 PDF files to one PDF!

    Just like before we judge a person is a good man or a bad man, you should take time to know about this person (1 day, 1 month and 1 year), then you can make the right choice!

    My opinion about Ashraf’s review is: it does not tell me all the main aspects of Foxonic Pro, if I just read your review of Foxonic Pro, maybe I will miss this really handy tool which a PDF printer (like experPDF or anyother PDF printer, free or not free) can’t substitute.

    My Rating for Ashraf’s review: 2.0

    And I also downloaded expertPDF v6.0, it’s not FREE!(why v5.0 is free, but v6.0 is not free) Absolutely NOT FREE! After installed, it shows that it’s a trial ware and runs slowly in my PC (XP, sp2, 1GB Ram), so don’t recommend this “FREEware” again,
    there’s plenty of freeware out there, PDF ReDirect, Solid PDF Creator, PDF Creator Service, PrimoPDF, I think why don’t you put all these real FREEware on you site and give us some review on them, but just put expertPDF on this site.

    All in all, I think Ashraf has more hard work need to be done!

  24. Ashraf
    Author/Mr. Boss

    sitetop,

    Your whole post is out of spite instead of actual intellectual feedback. If you actually bothered to read what I wrote you would find a link to example PDFs I created w/ Foxonic..

    0) How exactly do I “not know how to use the app”? Please elaborate – I am interested in your justifactions.

    1) Thanks for the information but that is exactly what I did. Go look at the example PDFs I created.

    2) Valid point; I thought three images would be enough to show the overall quality of PDFs created by eXPert PDF is superior – apparently not.

    3) I never asked Foxonic to become a PDF Printer. I merely stated that there are many PDF Printers and/or PDF Creators that can convert more than just images. If the developer wanted, he/she could add in the ability to convert files other then images, such as text files, without turning Foxonic into a PDF Printer.

    Furthermore, I know it can batch convert and has a splitter, merger and page extractor. Learn to read. Please.

    4) You do understand that using three files in the “Batch Creator” or 5000 is not going to matter? eXPert PDF will perform the same way regardless of how many files you are converting – I don’t see your point.

    But if it makes you happy, I did convert a 993 files (image and html files) with “Batch Creator” (just because I did not talk about it does not mean I did not do it). Everything went just fine – I still don’t see your point.

    5) eXPert PDF Pro is free. Also, if you think PrimoPDF is better, by all means start writing your own reviews and giving your own recommendations.

    6) I recommend you read my whole review before posting.

    7) See #6.

    8 ) Thanks for your recommendation.

    Lastly, your insult at Giovanni is baseless. Anyone that has read Giovanni’s posts knows he posts very useful information. He has, however, been lazy lately :P

  25. sitetop

    Hi #15 Ashraf and #65 giovanni,
    just downloaded the 3 example PDF file that u (Ashraf) created from eXpert PDF, but can’t find the PDF files that you create

    with Foxonic Professional, and nothing special for PDF quality that created from eXpert PDF, Foxonic Pro can create this type

    of PDF file easily, just because u (Ashraf) don’t know how to use it.

    I find here from GAOTD, I have some advices for you and I post my opinions on GAOTD also, you can see it there.

    I think a good review on products must be based on u REALLY know how to use it, NEVER post a review that can’t tell users

    what it is just
    because u don’t know how to use the app that u reviewed.

    Some useful info and advices about your review on on this app AND anyother apps from GOATD:
    (0) your review is just too simple, can u just dig a little deeper, how can u give out this review before u know how to use

    this app, from this review, I think to prove the quality the review, u had a lot of thing to learn before reviewing.

    (1) I will show u how to create PDF file from your testing images in right way with Foxonic pro:
    please adjust the PDF page size to “Auto size” in “Settings” -> “Page Options” before converting, I think you will get

    the same good result when converting your testing images.

    If u read the Help file and faq.htm pages of developer’s site carefully, u can find more ways to use Foxonic Pro.

    (2) suggest u give us a more detailed review on, such as, TIFF image converting, include OJPEG TIFF image converting test,
    multi-page TIFF image converting test.

    (3) when u said about PDF printer, what about a review between PrimoPDF printer(free) and eXpert PDF printer(free?), I think

    this 2 apps both can be used as a PDF printer , compare the same type of app is more sense for us.

    from the developer’s site: “Foxonic is a powerful and easy-to-use software designed for batch converting image files
    (JPEG/JPEG2000, TIFF, BMP, GIF and PNG) to PDF document. You can also merge PDF, split PDF and extract PDF pages”, it’s a

    PDF tool used for converting images to PDF, merge PDF, split PDF and extract PDF pages, it’s not a PDF printer, a PDF

    printer can do something which this app can’t (yes, print anything to PDF, but a PDF printer can’t do anything, anything

    has its weakness, like PDF printer: nobody have time to print 1000 files to PDF one by one), also Foxonic Pro has its limit

    (such as only images to PDF converting), but also Foxonic Pro can do something which a PDF printer can’t, such as batch

    converting 1000 or more image files with just 2 clicks within couple of minutes, yeah, really save us a lot of time, they are

    for different cases.

    (4) how about a batch converting test between Foxonic Professional and eXpert PDF in “Batch Creator” mode, 5000+ images one

    time or more what about 10000+ and even more images (100000) convert testing, I would like to know the result about the

    review on this batch converting job.

    (5) when u recommend a free PDF printer lately in GAOTD or whatever else places, can u recommend PrimoPDF but not eXpert PDF.
    because:
    (1) eXpert PDF is not free
    (2) PrimoPDF is really more powerful than eXpert PDF when printing 1-2 files to PDF.
    (3) PrimoPDF is alway FREE, not like eXpert PDF v4.0 and v5.0 free (maybe), but v6.0 is not free.

    (6) I recommend u to read through the developer’s help page (http://www.caisdata.com/faq.htm) to learn how to use this app
    before u post your review on the app.

    (7) advices: appreciate your reviewing work, but PLEASE, before u post a review on some products (such as this app or any

    other apps from GAOTD), u SHOULD learn to know how to use it for some days (30 minutes or hours testing can’t output some

    good result, how
    about changing your reviewing cycle to 2-3 days a product/review but not 1 hours a product/review).

    (8) Finally, I would RECOMMEND Foxonic Professional also, u can always find ways to use this app.

    Ashraf, looking forward for your further reviewing on this app again and keeping up this good working.

    Giovanni, to become a real thinker that can real thinking, don’t be just following anything before u thinking it over.

  26. Ashraf
    Author/Mr. Boss

    Hey Giovanni,

    Thanks for looking out for me :). I checked out his comment. I tested out creating PDFs with both Foxonic and eXPert PDF and eXPert PDF had the better quality ones. So ya… I don’t know what he is talking about.

    As for the offer: I just checked it is still available.

  27. giovanni

    Hi Ashraf,

    just a short note to inform you that I’ve just replied in the GAOTD forum to a guy called “sitetop” who had slammed your comment there saying that EXPERT PDF 5 PRO is much worse than this GAOTD (see his message posted at 8:38 am).

    Another blogger said that the referenced web page you mentioned in the GAOTD forum to grab a free copy of ExpertPdf 5 PRO does not provide any “download” link and other sites require $ for the program.

    Pls check out whether the OFFER is still on or not (don’t have time to do so now…LOL!!).

    Cheers

    Giovanni

  28. Janet

    How would a merged pdf file composed of a bunch of images compare in image quality with the same bunch of images simply zipped into a zip file? Is the only advantage of the merged pdf that the viewer doesn’t have to open each file separately?

    Janet

    PS I still get “invalid session” messages from Filefront and can’t download anything from there, even tho I uninstalled dl manager.