[Review] Extra DVD Ripper Professional

{rw_text}Giveaway of the day for May 13, 2009 is:

Extra DVD Ripper Professional

Version reviewed:

v6.43

Software description as per GOTD:

Extra DVD Ripper Professional is a DVD ripping tool to rip your favorite DVD movies to popular iPod, MP4, AVI, Divx, XviD, VCD, SVCD, PSP, Mobile 3GP and Pocket PC video formats. With Extra DVD Ripper Professional, you can choose which titles, audio tracks and subtitle tracks of the DVD you want to rip. You can also set the video size, bit-rate, frame-rate and aspect ratio, and audio bit-rate and sample. Extra DVD Ripper has a user-friendly interface and you can rip a DVD with only a few clicks. Enjoy it!

Key features in Extra DVD Ripper Professional:

  • Convert DVD movies to AVI DivX and XviD formats.
  • Convert DVD movies to VCD-PAL, VCD-NTSC, SVCD-PAL, SVCD-NTSC MPEG formats.
  • Convert DVD movies to Apple iPod MP4 format.
  • Convert DVD movies to Sony PSP Video file.
  • Convert DVD movies to Mobile 3GP formats.
  • Convert DVD movies to Pocket PC.

Ashraf’s Note:

If GOTD gives away another DVD related program I may have to hurt someone.

Also, all information, tips and advice given in this post should only be used within the constraints of the law. In other words if you  do anything illegal with Extra DVD Ripper Professional I am not responsible!

————————-{/rw_text} –>

{rw_good}

  • Can rip DVDs from disc or local folder.
  • Can rip DVDs to AVI, MP4 (iPod/PSP/iPhone), VCD, SVCD, and 3GP
  • You have control over your output video settings (audio/video bitrate, video size, fps, etc.)
  • Has a DVD standards video size!
  • Can bypass DRM protection. (?)
  • Not too bad on computer resources.
  • Not too slow in converting/ripping.
  • Excellent output quality.

{/rw_good} –>

{rw_bad}

  • No play button for “Preview video”.
  • “Preview video” is kind of buggy.
  • No WMV support.
  • Interface is a little buggy.
  • You can’t choose the name of your output file.
  • No settings to open output folder after ripping is finished.
  • Bitrates for AVI could be higher.

{/rw_bad} –>

{rw_score}
{for=”Features as Described” value=”9″}From the description it said you would be able to use DviX codec for AVI – I only see XviD. Otherwise everything works just fine.
{/for}
{for=”Ease of Use” value=”10″}Load a DVD, select your settings and go.
{/for}
{for=”Performance” value=”10″}Not too slow in converting, not too heavy on resources, output quality is good.
{/for}
{for=”Usefulness” value=”9″}Sure more supported output formats would have been nice but it covers all its bases – can be used for ripping DVD to computer or hand held devices – therefore very useful.
{/for}
{for=”Arbitrary Equalizer” value=”9″}This category reflects an arbitrary number that does not specifically stand for anything. Rather this number is used to reflect my overall rating/verdict of the program in which I considered all the features and free alternatives.
{/for}
{/rw_score} –>

{rw_verdict}[tupr]
{/rw_verdict} –>

Registration and installation went fine. You have to manually enter your registration information.

Extra DVD Ripper Professional is a program that allows you to easily rip DVDs to AVI, MP4 (iPod/PSP/iPhone), VCD, SCVD, and 3GP formats.

This is what Extra DVD Ripper Professional looks like:

2009-05-13_001215

Using EDRP (Extra DVD Ripper Professional) is very easy. First you click on 2009-05-13_120007 to load your DVD. You can load from either an actual CD or you can load from a folder on your computer:

2009-05-13_001223

Once you have loaded your DVD click on 2009-05-13_120137 to choose your output format, output settings and output folder:

2009-05-13_120317

You can choose AVI, MP4, VCD, SCVD, or 3GP by selecting one of the follow categories:

2009-05-13_120522

iPod, PSP, and iPhone create MP4s and Pocket PC creates AVIs.

Once you have decided upon your format, just change the settings accordingly. Under “Profile Settings” you will find a handful of “profiles” to select from for each format but after you select a format you can fully customize it (i.e. change any of the other settings) as you please. One thing worth noticing is that the video size has DVD standards compatible sizes (i.e. 720×480) which is really nice because most other programs did not have this.

Once everything is set how you please, just hit 2009-05-13_120813. When you are back at the main program window, you can preview your input source/output settings:

2009-05-13_120913

When you are ready to rip the DVD just hit 2009-05-13_121017 to start the ripping:

2009-05-13_002348

When your ripping is finished you will be told so:

2009-05-13_001537

As for the actual performance of this program:

  • Sitting idle with “preview DVD” off it only uses ~3.1 MB of RAM; with “preview DVD” on it uses ~14.2 MB of RAM.
  • During conversion it only used ~35 MB of RAM and ~40-50% CPU.
  • Conversion took 2:22 mins to convert a 167 MB 4:51 min long DVD to a 896 Kbps video, 128 Kbps audio, 720×480, 25 FPS AVI video.
  • Output quality was excellent – not DVD quality (duh you are converting to a lesser format) but excellent nonetheless.
  • Output file size was ~35 MB.

If you want to see the output quality for yourself, you can download the original DVD I used from here (for free – 100% legit) and compare it to the AVI version I created (click here to download AVI version).

One last thing I would like to mention before I go on to the cons of this program is I believe Extra DVD Ripper Professional is able to bypass DRM protection just like all the other Extra DVD programs because it uses the same recording technique. However I am not sure because 1) the developer’s website usually mentions the need for DVD43 but it does not for Extra DVD Ripper Professional and 2) the interface for this program is a little different than all the other programs. I don’t have any DRM protected DVDs so if anyone can test it out for me to confirm I would greatly appreciate it. For now I am going to go on the assumption it can until someone proves to me it can’t. That being said, you will probably need DVD43 to break region lock also.

Okay so overall I give Extra DVD Ripper Professional a thumbs up. Sure it could do with more output formats, but it is a good DVD ripping program. There are a few minor cons with this program however:

  • Under settings there is an option 2009-05-13_121935. What this option does is it allows you to preview you DVD after you load it (like watch it in real time). The only problem is there is no “play” button – only forward/rewind and a bar to allow you to scroll through parts of the DVD:

2009-05-13_122152

If you try to preview the video by pressing the green play button, the DVD will start ripping – it won’t play the DVD.

  • EDRP crashed a few times when I tried to preview the DVD and/or turn the option on/off.
  • You can’t output WMV videos.
  • Interface is a little buggy – text is often outside of its designated area:

2009-05-13_122451

2009-05-13_122516

  • You can’t choose the name of your output file. However, unlike Extra’s last program, you will be prompted before any file of the same name in the same output folder is overwritten.
  • There is no way to automatically open the output folder after ripping has finished.
  • Someone on GOTD complained about how “bitrates (audio and video) were too low” for this program. Well for iPod, PSP, iPhone, 3GP and Pocket PC the bitrates are just fine. I say just fine because the higher the bitrate the higher the file size. When you are putting a DVD on a mobile/hand held device file size is a concern and you need to try to keep it as low as possible. Also on such a small screen, the bitrate difference is not even noticeable.

For AVI, since AVI will be stored on a computer and file size is not as much of an issue, I do agree the bitrates could be a little higher. The maximum bitrate for AVI is 1024 Kbps video and 128 Kbps audio. One thing to keep in mind is an AVI will never be DVD quality so the bitrates will never be as high as an actual DVD and while I said I agree that they could be higher, the quality of an AVI video created by EDRP is excellent and watchable – not DVD quality (obviously if you wanted to keep DVD quality don’t rip it) but excellent quality nonetheless.

This review was conducted on a laptop running Windows Vista Home Premium 32-bit. The specs of the laptop are as follows: 3GB of RAM, a Radeon HD 2600 512MB graphics card, and an Intel T8300 2.4GHz Core 2 Duo processor.

{rw_freea}

FormatFactory

With FormatFactory, you can literally convert almost anything to anything. If you have this program, you will never need another conversion program ever again.

This is from the developers website:

Format Factory is a multifunctional media converter.
Provides functions below:
All to MP4/3GP/MPG/AVI/WMV/FLV/SWF.
All to MP3/WMA/AMR/OGG/AAC/WAV.
All to JPG/BMP/PNG/TIF/ICO/GIF/TGA.
Rip DVD to video file , Rip Music CD to audio file.
MP4 files support iPod/iPhone/PSP/BlackBerry format.
Source files support RMVB.

Format Factory’s Feature:

  1. support converting all popular video,audio,picture formats to others.
  2. Repair damaged video and audio file.
  3. Reducing Multimedia file size.
  4. Support iphone,ipod multimedia file formats.
  5. Picture converting supports Zoom,Rotate/Flip,tags.
  6. DVD Ripper.
  7. Supports 42 languages

—————-

FormatFactory also has a DVD ripper feature that allows you to convert to AVI, MP4, mobile devices, and 3GP (+ a lot more other formats such as WMV, FLV, etc.). The DVD ripper of FF is better than ED3R (more customization in options like higher bitrates, etc.) except for one difference: ED3R can bypass DRM while FF cannot.

However if you combine FF with DVD43 you may also be able to bypass DRM. I say may because I have not fully tested this theory yet. Until someone proves to me it can, I am going to go on the assumption it can’t.

{/rw_freea} –>

{rw_verdict2}Extra DVD Ripper Professional is an excellent program. It is easy to use, does not hog your computer resources while converting, supports multiple output formats, gives you control over output settings and, best of all, can bypass DRM. Sure it has its cons but overall I give it a thumbs up. I also recommend it. For free alternatives there is always FormatFactory; in terms of being a DVD ripper, FormatFactory is superior to EDRP except that FF can’t bypass DRM.
{/rw_verdict2} –>

Share this post

Comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

7 comments

  1. Ashraf
    Author/Mr. Boss

    @Jon: As far as I know Wondershare DVD Ripper Platinum can not bypass DRM so I will definitely recommend Extra DVD Ripper Professional over it. Otherwise Wondershare DVD Ripper Platinum is a great program – especially since you can do minor edits with it.

  2. Tortuga

    Hello Ash :D

    Ohhh Peuhlize!!! You haven’t seen nothing yet!!

    You didn’t have to suffer through ««months»» of Converters last year. Boy, that was a looong looong run!!!!

    And what was really annoying was the constant complaining & the never ending predictions of GOTD demise …
    And what would they suggest GOTD do? Refuse to post software bc we had enough of the same? Sheeesh

    Keep up the good work
    And your reviews are funny ;-)

    Peace

  3. Jon

    Hey Ashraf,

    As always, great review.

    One quick question, would you reccomend this over Wondershare DVD Ripper Platinum which was given away several days ago.

    I noticed you didn’t review it but wondered if you had any experience with it. From my experience over the last several days, it works fairly well but I was wondering if it would be worth repalcing it with Extra DVD Ripper Professional.

    It hasn’t had the best ratings over at GAOTD but as you can imagine, I am sure a lot of people are just knocking it because they don’t want another DVD ripper.

    Jonathan