[Review] Registry Defragmentation 9.1

{rw_text}Giveaway of the day for August 25, 2009 is:

Registry Defragmentation 9.1

Version reviewed:

v9.1 Build 03.23

System Requirements:

Windows 95/98/ME/NT/2000/XP/2003 and Vista

Software description as per GOTD:

Registry Defragmentation is a small utility that does gigantic improvements in computer performance. This application physically defragments the Windows registry file to give it the proper linear structure. This is an absolutely essential tool for all folks who install/uninstall new software applications frequently.“Registry Defragmentation” performs physical defragmentation of the Windows registry file. After defragmentation your registry will acquire linear structure which will reduce application response time and registry access time. “Registry Defragmentation” also removes unused entries, thus making registry even smaller in size. Do not worry if sometimes after defragmentation the registry will become smaller only by 1-5%, the key is not in size but in its linear structure, hence it determines access time.

————————-{/rw_text} –>

{rw_good}

  • Easy to use.
  • Works quickly.
  • Can backup and restore registry.
  • In-house ability to create and use System Restore points.
  • Has a scheduler to allow you to automate tasks.
  • Did not mess up my computer after a defrag (did not notice any problems yet).

{/rw_good} –>

{rw_bad}

  • No “analysis” report prior to actual defragmentation.
  • Does not warn you to close all programs before you defrag.
  • Scheduler is set to run automatically at boot by default.
  • Registry backup files are not self-executing (you must have a program that supports the backup format to restore your registry).
  • Opens a website in your browser advertising another product during installation.
  • Mentions it is for “95-XP” some places and “XP-Vista” other places.

{/rw_bad} –>

{rw_score}
{for=”Ease of Use” value=”10″}Point and click; a little knowledge about registries is handy to have but that comes with the territory and is not unique to the program.
{/for}
{for=”Performance” value=”.”}
{/for}
{for=”Usefulness” value=”10″}Everyone has a registry to compact/defrag.
{/for}
{for=”Arbitrary Equalizer” value=”6″}This category reflects an arbitrary number that does not specifically stand for anything. Rather this number is used to reflect my overall rating/verdict of the program in which I considered all the features and free alternatives.
{/for}
{/rw_score} –>

{rw_verdict}[tdown]
{/rw_verdict} –>

Registry Defragmentation is a program that allows you to defrag your registry. In addition to the actual defragging features, you can backup/restore your registry and work with System Restore. To help you automate all these tasks, there is a built in scheduler you can use. If you have used or read about Advanced Registry Doctor Pro, you will notice Registry Defragmentation is the same “Registry Toolkit” from that program.

This is what Registry Defragmentation looks like:

2009-08-24_231141

The interface is fairly straightforward. Just click on the feature you want to use and it will launch. Take note that the “System Backup” is just Window’s System Restore.

Before you decide to go rambo your registry, I highly suggest you make use of the registry backup feature of this program. To do this just click on “Registry Backup”. You will first be asked which “tool” you want to use:

2009-08-24_232620

The only two options you have here are “Registry Backup” and “Registry Restore”. Obviously pick “Registry Backup” if you want to make a backup and “Registry Restore” if you want to restore your registry from a backup.

For backing up a registry, you will be asked to select which registry hives you want to backup:

2009-08-24_232859

I highly suggest you back them all up at least the first time around; after that feel free to backup only select hives that you defrag. Take note that by default the backup will be placed in c:\RegBackup\; however you can change this to wherever you want. After you select the hives you want to backup, just hit “Go!” and the backup will start.

For restoring a registry, the process is similar to backing up a registry:

2009-08-24_233135

Select the hives you want to restore and the folder where your registry backup is at and click “Go!”.

When you go to defrag your registry, the process again will done in a similar fashion (interface wise) as backing up/restoring with a few minor changes. First you will first be asked which parts of your registry you want to defrag:

2009-08-24_232002

Be default all but the “Security” hive will be selected. The reason the “Security” hive is not selected is because according to the developer defragging the “Security” hive is dangerous (I don’t know if that is true or not… just passing on what the developer thinks).

After you know which hives you want to defrag, just click “Go!” and the defragging will being. Take note that even though the developer does not warn you that you should close all programs, including disabling antiviruses and firewalls, before you defrag your registry, you should do. That is not to say if you don’t close all your programs your computer will blow up after a registry defrag; rather it is a safety precaution to avoid an error. Also take note that once you click “Go!” the defragging will being – Register Defragmentation will not first scan your computer, show you an “analysis” report, and then asked if you want to go through with the registry defrag (even though it should do this).

When the registry defragging is done, you will be asked to restart your computer:

2009-08-24_221925

Notice that a report is finally generated for you… but after the defragging has finished. Go ahead and restart your computer; if you want to view the report you can view it after you reboot.

After you reboot your computer and you want to view the report of your defrag, run Registry Defragmentation, click on “Registry Dfragmentation” and click on “Report” from the left:

2009-08-24_232447

Lastly, there is a scheduler with this program that is supposed to allow you to schedule tasks to run automatically:

2009-08-24_233408

As you can see there are already tasks created for you but they are disabled by default. To enable them just double click them and click on “Enable”:

2009-08-24_233525

Feel free to change the data/time and run parameters as you wish.

If you prefer not to use the precreated tasks, you can create your own tasks (“Task” -> “Add Task”). You can choose between running the registry defrag, registry backup, or registry restore:

2009-08-24_233721

While the date/time parameters for each three tasks are similar, the run parameters are different:

2009-08-24_233754

2009-08-24_233758

2009-08-24_233803

Done; the features are explained. Usually at this point of my review I would talk about performance. For performance of this program all I can really say is registry defragging is done quickly and defragging the registry does not mess up your computer (my computer is working fine after I defragged so far). I can’t say anything else more because quantifying the direct benefits of a registry defrag is near impossible (for me at least; maybe the big boys with the big guns can do it). The best I can tell you is a registry defrag is supposed to make application and computer response times faster. I can’t say I noticed any major speed increases after I defragged my registry (as per the report my registry was made 16% more compact) but that is my subjective, not objective, answer. I prefer to comment on performance when I have objective facts to state. Hate me if you like for this, but the that is the truth =).

Overall I give this program a thumbs down. Since I didn’t comment much on performance, I can’t say I am giving it a thumbs down because it messed up my computer (it didn’t mess up my computer as far as I noticed). Rather I am giving it a thumbs down because it is lacking a few features:

  • As I already mentioned, you are not giving any sort of “analysis” report prior to defragging telling you, for example, how much of your registry will be dragged and how compact it will become. You are given a report after you defrag which in my opinion is only half as useful.
  • As I already mentioned again, you are not warned to close all your programs and disable security software prior to running a defrag. This is a big con because you really should do those things to avoid potential problems.
  • Registry backups are not self-executing/restoring. In other words, the only way to restore your registry backup is to use Registry Defragmentation or a similar program by Elcor Software.

Other minor but annoying cons are:

  • The “Registry Defragmentation Scheduler” is set to run at boot by default. You can disable that by going to “Options” and unchecking “Load at Startup”. Now I understand for the scheduler to work it needs to be run at Windows boot. However by default all the tasks are disabled so I see no reason to run the scheduler. I prefer if the developer made the scheduler start at boot once you have at least one enabled task in there.
  • During installation a website is opened in your browser advertising Elcor Software’s Premium Booster.
  • At some places in the program it mentions “95-XP” in the title bar while other places it mentions “XP-Vista”:

2009-08-24_234905

2009-08-24_234923

This review was conducted on a laptop running Windows Vista Home Premium 32-bit. The specs of the laptop are as follows: 3GB of RAM, a Radeon HD 2600 512MB graphics card, and an Intel T8300 2.4GHz Core 2 Duo processor.

{rw_freea}

TuneUp Utilities 2008 (“TuneUp Registry Defrag” module)

QuickSys Registry Defrag

WinMend Registry Defrag

{/rw_freea} –>

{rw_verdict2}Thumbs down for Registry Defragmentation for reasons I just mentioned above. I personally never bother to defrag my registry but if you do I recommend you get TuneUp Utilities 2008 and use their “TuneUp Registry Defrag” module. I am not saying Registry Defragmentation does a bad job in defragging your registry; I did not claim anything about its performance as I already explained above. All I am saying is stick with the time tested product made by professionals you know for sure you can trust; and for today’s review, that product happens to be TuneUp Utilities 2008.
{/rw_verdict2} –>

Share this post

Comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

11 comments

  1. Ashraf
    Author/Mr. Boss

    @giovanni and @EZ Does It: Or I could just be really busy…? The reason GOTD deleted your comment from the forum, and one of the reasons I have avoided commenting on your find is because Registry Mechanic 7, System Mechanic 9, and SpeedUpMyPc are all three only for magazine readers (PC Advisor and ComputerActive) – not for everyone. That is also why I did not make a blog post on them (yes I knew about them before you linked them).

    As for the Auslogics if you tried it instead of just linking it you will notice Auslogics is no longer freeware. As for EasyCleaner, the review you linked me is from 2006 so I highly doubt it will be a useful program in 2009 considering all the changes have been made.

    Happy?

  2. EZ Does It

    Hi ASHRAF,

    Thanks a milion for the excellent reviews you’re providing us each and every day.

    Can you please give us your opinion on the big list of free alternatives mentioned by “giovanni” in one of the previous comments, it will benefit many of us to know what you think about them.
    Thanks

  3. Eldad

    Hello dear Ashraf,
    Thank you for amazingly thorough so well written and explained review. This is the first time that I read your in-depth review that you apparently write for every GAOTD offering, how do you have the time to do such huge job every day? did you discover a way to get for yourself more than 24 hours each day?

    I am fairly PC savvy and have a heavily loaded (450 installed programs) XP-PRO-SP3 mchine that works very well with no problems. I do HD cleanups and defrags and do registry cleanups and fixing (often use JV16-2006 suite, others too).
    I am still confused about registry defrag, some experts warn not to do it, some seem to say you can do it but it does not help much or at all, some are saying it is good to do and helps a lot !
    Do you have a bottom line opinion on that?

    Thanks again for the great reviews you do, best regards……Eldad

  4. david roper

    To paraphrase Locutus:

    I wish I had the brains to do the kind of review where I make good registry entries and make all the other entries bad and see what comes up. That sort of thing scares me.

    ;-)

    Good review, Ashraf. Time consuming.

  5. giovanni

    I forgot to mention that to get rid of unused registry entries that slow down the performance of your PC, there is a FREEWARE tool called “EASY CLEANER 2.0?, very useful indeed to remove irrelevant registry entries, fragmented files on the hard disk, duplicate files as well as unnecessary processes in the windoes startup…

    http://www.softpedia.com/reviews/windows/EasyCleaner-Review-34741.shtml

    As you can see from the above link it got an “EXCELLENT” rating from SOFTPEDIA EDITOR in all its key aspects such as User Interface, Features, Ease of use and Pricing/Value.

    Another good FREEWARE application to defragment the REGISTRY is definetely AUSLOGIC REGISTRY DEFRAG 4.1.6:

    http://download.cnet.com/Auslogics-Registry-Defrag/3000-2094_4-10797651.html

    Enjoy!!

    I go to the beach now…LOL!!

  6. giovanni

    HI Ashraf!!

    Great review!!

    Besides TUNE UP UTILITIES 2008 I’d suggest using the award winning Registry Mechanic 7, which is also a great tool to defragment the registry!!

    You can get 1 year licence for FREE following instructions here:

    http://wongsk.blogspot.com/2008/10/free-one-license-key-for-pc-tools.html

    You can also grab a free 6 month licence of the award winning
    Free Iolo System Mechanic 9 following the instructions set out in the link below:

    http://www.mydigitallife.info/2009/08/24/free-iolo-system-mechanic-9-download-with-6-months-license-serial-key/

    But if your main aim is to SPEED UP your system dramatically why not GRAB for free the award-winning SPEEDUPMYPC2009??

    http://mytechquest.com/windows/download-free-serial-key-for-full-version-speedupmypc-2009/

    LOL!! Were you aware of these special offers??

    It’s amazing that nobody mentioned them both here and in the GAOTD FORUM, isn’t it??

    Cheers

    Giovanni