[Review] PDF to HTML Converter

{rw_text}Giveaway of the day for September 15, 2009 is:

PDF to HTML Converter

Version reviewed:

v1.0.0.8

System Requirements:

Microsoft Windows XP/Vista

Software description as per GOTD:

PDF to HTML Converter can convert PDF to HTML file and preserve the original text content, page layouts, images and hyperlinks as best as technically possible. And it can automatically link page numbers to all generated pages and resize pictures to fit frame borders. PDF to HTML Converter is a stand-alone program and does not require Adobe Acrobat, or even Adobe Reader.Key Features:

  • Convert PDF file into HTML page;
  • Support encrypted PDF file conversion;
  • Preserve text content, page layouts, images and hyperlinks;
  • Multiple conversion modes—Batch, Partial, Right-click conversion mode;
  • Optimize and scale HTML code for different screen resolutions;
  • Generate Navigation, Page Index Bars.

Free Technical Support:
AnyBizSoft Studio provides free online technical support for this giveaway. If you have questions about our product, please feel free to contact us via email: support@anybizsoft.com

————————-{/rw_text} –>

{rw_good}

  • Easy to use.
  • Supports batch processing.
  • Supports drag + drop.
  • You can convert whole PDF or just select pages.
  • Not too bad on computer resources.
  • Good conversion speed.
  • Resulting HTML is well designed in terms of navigation.

{/rw_good} –>

{rw_bad}

  • Conversions/results are not the best; need improvement.
  • Output files needs to be organized better.
  • No option to add a right-click context menu entry added for quick conversions if desired.
  • HTML files won’t show properly in Firefox when uploaded onto a website.

{/rw_bad} –>

{rw_score}
{for=”Ease of Use” value=”10″}Point and click.
{/for}
{for=”Performance” value=”5″}The output HTML files I created need improvement in terms of quality and accuracy.
{/for}
{for=”Usefulness” value=”5″}Not many people will need to turn a PDF to HTML; mainly only webmasters who prefer to put a document on their websites in HTML rather than PDF.
{/for}
{for=”Arbitrary Equalizer” value=”6″}This category reflects an arbitrary number that does not specifically stand for anything. Rather this number is used to reflect my overall rating/verdict of the program in which I considered all the features and free alternatives.
{/for}
{/rw_score} –>

{rw_verdict}[tdown]
{/rw_verdict} –>

PDF to HTML Converter is exactly what it sounds: a program that converts PDF to HTML files. Using PDF to HTML is very straightfoward and easy to use. You simply launch the program:

2009-09-14_233809

Click on “Add Files…” to add the PDFs you want to convert (you may also drag + drop the PDFs onto the program window). You can select multiple PDFs to add at once because PDF to HTML Converter supports batch processing:

2009-09-14_234032

Once you have added all the PDFs you want to convert, you can either choose to convert all the pages of the PDFs or if you prefer to convert only a select page, simply click on the “All” entry under “Selected Pages” for that PDF, and type in which pages you want to convert:

2009-09-14_234256

After that just choose where you want to output to…

2009-09-14_234401

…and click “Convert” to start converting. Since I was using the trial version I was limited to only converting the first 3 pages of a PDF so trying to gauge the exact conversion speed and resource usage was tough, but as far as I can tell the conversion speed is fairly fast and resource usage is not too high either.

The last feature of PDF to HTML Converter I want to point out is the “Options”:

2009-09-14_234555

Now when it comes to converting PDF files, being an easy to use program is always a plus, but what determines if the converter is a good program or not is the conversion/output quality. To test the quality of PDF to HTML Converter, I converted three different PDFs to HTML:

PDF 1
PDF 2
PDF 3

All three PDFs are quite different from each other (one is a simple image + simple text PDF, the other is a complex text PDF, while the third one is a complex image/table PDF) so I got to test PDF to HTML output quality in multiple different ways. I discovered, unfortunately, PDF to HTML Converter has a fair bit to work on in the output quality/accurate conversions department. Take a look for yourself:

PDF 1 Output
PDF 2 Output
PDF 3 Output

***For some reason I cannot view the output HTML files properly in Firefox after I upload them onto my website. I see them fine in Internet Explorer after I upload them and I saw them fine in Firefox while they were offline. Not sure what is up. Is this just me or can you other Firefox users also not see them?

Update: To view the HTML files properly in Firefox, go to View, Character Encoding, More Encodings, Unicode (UTF-16). Thanks Micheal!

As you can see the first PDF is converted just fine because it is simple image + simple text. However the second and third PDFs are not converted well. For the second PDF it fails to pick up the font properly for the second paragraph. The font is nothing special… it is just  Times New Roman, Arial, and Courier so there is no excuse for not getting it. For the third PDF it has black lines covering some of the text. Not very good conversions.

Furthermore, another con of this program is out the output files are organized:

2009-09-15_000645

I like the fact that the images were put in their folder but the same thing needs to happen with all the HTML files except index.html (i.e. there should be a folder created for the HTML files and all of them except index.html should be put in there).

This review was conducted on a laptop running Windows 7 Professional 32-bit. The specs of the laptop are as follows: 3GB of RAM, a Radeon HD 2600 512MB graphics card, and an Intel T8300 2.4GHz Core 2 Duo processor.

{rw_verdict2}PDF to HTML Converter is easy to use, works fast, and does not hog up too many computer resources. However the output quality/conversion accuracy is lacking and output file organization needs to be improved. Thumbs down.
{/rw_verdict2} –>

Share this post

Comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

23 comments

  1. david

    The navigation in the 3 HTML-rendered PDFs above do not work in the chromium browser. I’m running version 4.0.211.0 (26280) of chromium.

    E.g., when I click on Page 1 or Page 2, the content area is replaced with another copy of the “Page” navigation links & clicking on “Bookmarks” doesn’t do anything.

  2. Ashraf
    Author/Mr. Boss

    @bkca: No LOL!

    @muhammad: Nice! I totally forgot about Zamzar =).

    @Ozzie: I am going to look over my shoulder for Ozzie stalking me where ever I go now.

    @internetexplorer: I wish it was FormatFactory =). As far as I know FF can’t convert PDFs (…or can it?). I think Giovanni is referring to something else. I choose not to reply to him now because I plan on making a separate post on useful PDF tools… soon as I get the time =).

  3. internetexplorer

    for anyone who hasn’t been reading Ashraf’s reviews for very long, the free alternative referred to in one of the above comments is known as Format Factory. A search for it will turn up a lot of references.

  4. Ozzie

    @bkca: You have waaaay too much time on your hands! Way I see it, some things in life should remain a mystery. And so should our good guru’s identity. I mean, really, do you actually think Ashraf is going to acknowledge that? I just hope poor Prof. Aboulnaga isn’t now inundated with emails asking him for help with technical matters!

    And anyway, Ashraf already did a mighty fine self-portrait a few weeks back. I’d pick him out a mile off after that! :)

    As for today’s review, which is what this space is about, well thanks again for the good review, Ashraf. Always appreciated!

  5. Beefy

    I can’t even remember the names of all the free ones of tried. But they all share an inability to convert special characters, in my case Chinese characters.

    I suspect there’s no point even trying if it isn’t working on the basic character set.

  6. Michael

    ***For some reason I cannot view the output HTML files properly in Firefox after I upload them onto my website. I see them fine in Internet Explorer after I upload them and I saw them fine in Firefox while they were offline. Not sure what is up. Is this just me or can you other Firefox users also not see them?

    Try going to View, Character Encoding, More Encodings, Unicode (UTF-16). Worked for me.

  7. tlvp

    I tried to open your third conversion page in Opera v.10.
    A fiasco! just gibberish text seemingly taken at random
    from within the HEAD and NOFRAMES sections of the HTML.

    So I tried it in IE7. Rendered moderately well, well enough
    that I thought it worth submitting the source code to the
    validator.w3.org HTML-validation site. The verdict there:

    “Errors found while checking this document as HTML 4.0 Transitional!
    Result: 142 Errors”

    But FF won’t open it at all, you report? — I guess I’ll pass
    on this little freebie :-) .

    Thanks for the groundwork. Cheers, — tlvp