- dotTech - http://dottech.org -

[Windows] Cut, join, split, and crop videos, add watermark, and more with idoo Video Editor Pro

Posted By dotTech Staff On March 9, 2013 @ 12:00 AM In Windows | 1 Comment

2013-03-08_222315 [1]Need a program to perform “modifications” such as cut, join, split, and crop to your videos? Video to Video Converter [2] is a freeware program that does all that and more, despite being a video converter and not a video editor. However, if Video to Video Converter is not to your taste, then idoo Video Editor Pro wants your business. Let’s see if it is worth your time.

WHAT IS IT AND WHAT DOES IT DO

Main Functionality

Despite the name of the program, idoo Video Editor Pro does not let you edit videos per se; you won’t be able to edit the contents of your videos with this program. Rather, idoo Video Editor Pro allows you to: cut, join, split, crop, or rotate videos; add watermark; add subtitles; and modify brightness, contrast and saturation.

Pros

  • Allows you to cut, join, split, crop, and/or rotate videos
    • Note: The difference between cut and split is with cut you can one output file containing the segment you selected. With split you get multiple output files of separate segments each.
    • Note: Rotation is 90/180/270 degress
  • Can add watermark (text and/or image) and/or subtitles to videos
  • Can modify video brightness, contrast, and saturation
  • When splitting, can split into segments by time, size, number of segments or you can manually set the split yourself
  • Can cut in batch
  • Works with videos and audios (as applicable, i.e. you obviously cannot modify brightness, contrast, and saturation of an audio)
  • Allows you to keep output format the same as input format or convert to another format
    • Note: Although you can convert input files to different output formats, this program does not double as a video/audio converter because you do not have very much control of output settings aside from ‘video quality’, ‘video size’ (resolution), ‘audio quality’, and ‘channels’. In other words, don’t expect to use this program as just a converter — the conversion capabilities are only there to enhance the other features.
  • 2013-03-08_231531 [3]Supports a large number of input and output formats plus has support for specific electronic devices (see list to right for supported input formats; output formats are similar)
  • Can take screenshots of videos

Cons

  • Is not really a video ‘editor’ because it does not let you edit the actual content of videos
  • You cannot create subtitles with this program. Subtitles need to exist already in SRT or ASS format to be added to a video using this program.
  • Text watermark supports JPG/JPEG, BMP, and PNG only; doesn’t support GIF
  • Cutting is the only feature that can be done in batch. All the other features do not support batch processing.
  • Cannot not cut, join, or split without re-encoding
  • Supports for electronic devices is woefully outdated and inadequate for anything other than iDevices

Discussion

2013-03-08_222506 [4]When I first came across idoo Video Editor Pro, I was quite excited to see a video editor for only $39.90. Competent video editing software, like photo editing software, are expensive so an editor for less than $50 excited me. However, once I started using idoo Video Editor Pro I realized why it is so “cheap” — it isn’t actually a video editor.

Despite the name of the program, idoo Video Editor Pro is not a video editor; it does not allow you to actually edit the contents of videos. Rather, idoo Video Editor Pro is what I’m going to call a video ‘modifier’ — it allows you to modify videos but not video content. And that is my biggest problem with this program.

The program itself works fine as per my tests (fast, good output quality, no bugs that I noticed, etc.) and is fairly easy to use. However, a program named idoo Video Editor Pro should have video editing features or shouldn’t call itself a video editor. But then again, who am I to tell idoo how to name their programs.

Conclusion and Download Link

As I already mentioned, I found nothing too majorly wrong with idoo Video Editor Pro although there is obviously some room for improvement. My biggest issue with the program is that it doesn’t actually edit videos. And the fact that it doesn’t actually edit videos puts that $39.90 price tag into better perspective. Do you really want to pay $39.90 for video modifications features… especially when those features can be found in many freeware video converters, like Video to Video Converter [2]? I personally wouldn’t but, hey, it is your money.

If you don’t like Video to Video Converter, Freemake Video Converter [5] can also join/cut/rotate/flip videos or you can check out dotTech’s review of best free video/audio converter for Windows [6] to learn about other converters that also have these features or you can check out other programs like Freemore Audio Video Suite [7], Free Studio [8], and All Free Video Joiner [9]. I especially like All Free Video Joiner for joining purposes because it does joins without re-encoding.

Price: $39.90

Version Reviewed: 1.4.0

Supported OS: Windows

Download Size: 14.1MB

VirusTotal Malware Scan Results: 0/46 [10]

Is it portable? No

idoo Video Converter Pro homepage [11]


Article printed from dotTech: http://dottech.org

URL to article: http://dottech.org/99838/windows-review-idoo-video-editor-pro/

URLs in this post:

[1] Image: http://dottech.org/wp-content/uploads/2013/03/2013-03-08_222315.png

[2] Video to Video Converter: http://dottech.org/97790/windows-best-free-video-and-audio-converter-program-review/#bestfree

[3] Image: http://dottech.org/wp-content/uploads/2013/03/2013-03-08_231531.png

[4] Image: http://dottech.org/wp-content/uploads/2013/03/2013-03-08_222506.png

[5] Freemake Video Converter: http://dottech.org/96433/windows-how-to-cut-trim-join-rotate-flip-videos-tip-guide/

[6] best free video/audio converter for Windows: http://dottech.org/97790/windows-best-free-video-and-audio-converter-program-review/

[7] Freemore Audio Video Suite: http://dottech.org/93263/windows-freemore-audio-video-suite-provides-dozens-of-audio-video-and-image-tools-in-one-program/

[8] Free Studio: http://dottech.org/89229/windows-convert-videos-convert-audios-burn-cdsdvdsbds-download-youtube-videos-and-more-with-free-studio-a-collection-of-48-dvdvideosoft-tools/

[9] All Free Video Joiner: http://dottech.org/94973/windows-review-all-free-video-joiner/

[10] 0/46: https://www.virustotal.com/en/file/34fbc826968124a5995193046be75ccbbefe261a747ed7800ff9654f5c570302/analysis/1362806390/

[11] idoo Video Converter Pro homepage: http://www.idooeditor.com/video-editor.htm

© 2008-2012 dotTech.org | All content is the property of its rightful owner.