- dotTech - https://dottech.org -

How to turn off location in Facebook Messenger [Tip]

With Facebook Messenger, you can easily contact your friends no matter where they are in the world. You can even send photos, voice recordings, smilies and stickers. Even so, you should still be careful not to accidentally reveal your actual location especially to those whom you don’t trust. After all, your location can be used against you. Besides, not everyone that you meet in Facebook has good intentions. So, it is better to take the necessary precautions.

So, to be safe, better turn off your location before you send a message. Just keep in mind that this method will only work if you have the Facebook Messenger mobile app.

How to turn off location in Facebook Messenger

turn off location in FB Messenger [1]

turn off location in FB Messenger b [2]

It’s really easy.

So once you turn off the location for all messages and group chats, the geo-location icon will be automatically removed from your conversations. This way, you won’t accidentally disclose your location to anyone just because you’ve forgotten to switch off the said option for individual chats.

Anyways, do keep in mind that even if you turn off the location option in Facebook, you can still post “check-in” updates and other location-related activities to your account feed and timeline.