Review: Photo-Image Resizer

Giveaway of the day for May 29th is:

Photo-Image Resizer

Version Reviewed:

2.5

Software description as per GOTD:

Resize digital pictures and apply special effects easily and automatically. EvJO Photo-Image Resizer makes resizing multiple images as easy as downsampling a single one. Just select one or more pictures, drag and drop them onto EvJO Photo-Image Resizer, select your desired size and special effects to apply, and hit Convert to do the job. You can add watermarks, modify images’ brightness, contrast and saturation, and add frames and signatures.

———————–

I can’t figure out th plugins.  I hope you can understand it without fancy tables!

PROS:

-Fast
-Easy
-Quick
-Will keep the aspect ratio

CONS:

-Had to type in (not paste in) the reg code
-When closing to activate it tells you to buy
-Defaults to “Original Size”
-Lack of explination
-Text watermarks are under “Text Object”, not under “Watermarks”
-Masks
-Couldn’t get the masks to stay (VIsta?) in the small preview (clicking “Conversdion Preview” showed them)
-No ability to choose the file name
-MAJOR CON:  “COPYRIGHT” on output
-Annoying multi-file output/input folder select
-No ability to choose pictures from more than one folder
-No select all button (Thanks commenters!)
-Weird keyboard shortcuts (Ctrl+F4 to close)

Rating (Out of ten):

Features as Described:

It does do all that.  The effects are hidden in the advanced menu.  10/10

Ease of Use:

1, 2, 3.  10/10

Performance:

All I can say is that it wasn’t slow, even with the effects.    9/10

Usefulness:

Who needs to resize photos? They’re almost all automatic anyway.   6/10

Arbitrary Equalizer

This category reflects an arbitrary number that does not specifically stand for anything. Rather this number is used to reflect my overall rating/verdict of the program in which I considered all the features and free alternatives.   6/10

Total:  8.2/10

Quick Verdict: Thumbs up, NOT RECCOMENDED


FULL REVIEW:It is a very quick and easy install.  It’s a good program, and if you have a use for it, grab it.  I however don’t, because all of my programs that I use either fit to window or prompt me.  (Plus it’s fun to do it in GIMP).

This is what it looks like:

2009-05-21_014004

When you 1st get it, register it by clicking register. Click close and click later to have the key register.

2009-05-21_014004

This is the window for browsing new files in single-file mode:

2009-05-21_014004

While they give us this in multi mode:

2009-05-21_014004

What are these?

2009-05-21_014004

There’s no select all button when dealing with multiple pictures.

2009-05-21_014004

But multi mode lets you name them whatever you want:

2009-05-21_014004

Free Alternatives:
Paint.net (http://getpaint.net)
GIMP (http://GIMP.org)
Paint (Start>All Programs>Accessories>Paint)

This review was conducted on a laptop running Windows Vista Home Premium 64-bit. The specs of the laptop are as follows: 4GB of RAM, a Radeon HD 3650 2GB graphics card, and an AMD Turion X3 Ultra Dual-Core Mobile  ZM=82 2.20GHz processor.

Share this post

Comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

15 comments

  1. MikeR

    Well done, JL: thanks for getting to grips with this.

    (Incidentally, a lot of the tecchie stuff is explained in the wunnerful IrfanView’s help files, splines, splinters, what the heck else.)

    This software’s not a scrap of use to me because I have PhotoShop but it wouldn’t in any event if I’ve understood this correctly:

    MAJOR CON: “COPYRIGHT” on output

    If this means everything produced by today’s software contains some kind — any kind — of over-print, then why on earth is it even being offered?

    If that is indeed the case, then you might have been better not bothering to do any kind of review at all, because nobody is going to use something which impacts on the finished output.

    All of which makes the thumbs up / not recommended tag even more muysterious. . .

    But maybe you were being just a little. . . enigmatic? ;-)

  2. Farrukh

    Hey I post my review but it is not appearing here :(

    I posted it on GiveAwayOfTheDay site as well. Now editing it here

    BTW, I was able to paste the registration info easily.
    Here is my review:

    Good:
    Simple installation.
    A user friendly interface with separate tabs for Selecting Group of files or Single Files.
    Watermark option is good with customizable effects.
    Adding Text Object is a nice feature
    While adding frames, a good number of Picture Masks are provided.
    Very nice options to adjust your picture with Saturation, Hue etc and adding effects like Emboss, Sepia etc.
    A good interface to Edit some of the EXIF fields
    You can change the Language of software by adding more .lng files.
    I tested with 4 photos and it does retain the good quality.

    Bad:
    You can’t copy and past in Folder Selection Text Boxes, you have to use Browse Button The output options are only limited to jpg, gif,bmp, png and tiff.
    Free Alternatives:
    Fast Stone Image Viewer: http://www.fastone.org
    Which is a very good photo viewer (I like it more than Irfan view) and has a built-in photo resizer such like EvJO.FastStone photo resize is also available separately.

    XnView:
    http://www.xnview.comhttp://www.xnview.orgWhich also has many options for resizing/converting pictures in batch as well

  3. Jean-Luc Picard
    Author/

    I said:

    AMD Turion X3 Ultra Dual-Core Mobile ZM=82 2.20GHz

    I meant to say:

    AMD Turion X2 Ultra Dual-Core Mobile ZM-82 2.20GHz

    But I’m too tired to fix it.